The “Health” in Healthcare

Raw milk. Yes, I drink it.This week, SCOTUS listened to arguments about the constitutional validity of Obamacare. However one feels about this piece of legislation, everyone does seem to agree that there were major problems with the system. One of the conversations I had this week was about how cool it would be if insurance covered preventative measures. I suppose it would – be cool that is – but why do we need to wait for insurance to cover such measures?

People often assume that insurance – government mandated or otherwise – is necessarily synonymous with good healthcare. I disagree. A great many problems, both physical and mental can be improved, or even dealt with completely, with the application of dietary changes and the use of herbs and homeopathy. People often complain that good food is more expensive, but this is not true if the first thing one cuts out is sugar and all processed foods. Even non-organic produce and meat is an improvement for both one’s health and one’s wallet. Quitting smoking is another example of a behavior over which we have control that greatly affects our health.* I don’t understand why someone would continue with such an obviously destructive habit when they have serious physical issues. To me this seems a failure of personal responsibility hardly better than continuing to drink after getting a liver transplant.

A great deal of our health and well-being is within our control. What we eat and do not eat, whether we move or do not move, whether we engage in recreational substance abuse or not, we always have the choice to say “yes” or “no,” and these choices have consequences. As a young person, I ate a lot of sugar: four candy bars a day for several years. I said “yes” to something I knew was a bad habit. Eventually I quit, went back to it at a lower level, quit again, and came back with even less. Each time I quit, it was a little easier, and I noticed improvements in my wellness. I no longer suffer from anxiety, and my gum disease has been halted, and those are just the effects of not eating sugar. There are numerous other changes I’ve made in what I eat that have paid off. At 47 I am finally free of life-long depression, and I just feel good. I have energy and my thoughts are clear. A doctor would have been unlikely to have asked me what I eat, and would have prescribed drugs, drugs which often have side-effects that lead to other problems.

My ideal health insurance would be a group based on eating traditional foods. It would work well as a high deductable plan because such plans are gambling that one’s health is generally good. Without asthma inhalers, insulin, and medications for high blood pressure, thyroid dysfunction, cholesterol, costs for such insurance could be more reasonable.

Such health insurance would only be possible if health insurance were allowed to sold across state lines because there are too few of us that eat this way to make a big enough pool in any one state. I will hope for such an option in the future.

*I personally would never advocate for laws that outlaw smoking, although I have no problem with laws that make it illegal to smoke in indoor public places. I even think bars should have the option of being smoking or non-smoking. If I want the freedom to drink raw milk, I have to advocate for other’s rights to do as they like, as long as it doesn’t infringe on others.

About selinarif

Selina came across Paganism around age 15 and it felt like coming home. She has been solitary, and worked in numerous circles, both formal and informal in several different traditions. She is a massage therapist, home-maker, amateur home re-modeler, and a martial artist, and ties all of these things into her spirituality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The “Health” in Healthcare

  1. Rori says:

    I’m wondering… have you proposed these thoughts to your local gov’t representatives? If not yet, when you do, let me know… I’d love to sign the petition!!!! “My ideal health insurance would be a group based on eating traditional foods. It would work well as a high deductable plan because such plans are gambling that one’s health is generally good. Without asthma inhalers, insulin, and medications for high blood pressure, thyroid dysfunction, cholesterol, costs for such insurance could be more reasonable.

    Such health insurance would only be possible if health insurance were allowed to be sold across state lines because there are too few of us that eat this way to make a big enough pool in any one state. I will hope for such an option in the future.”
    This is a plan I could totally get behind!!!
    Great post!

  2. Still the cost of healthcare is absurd in America. The hybrid system of insurance and uninsured simply doesn’t work. It would help to have more transparent pricing, but many people are one illness away from bankruptcy, even with insurance and that is NOT a good thing.

  3. selinarif says:

    It is not necessary to go into bankruptcy because of medical bills. As long as you are paying the the bill, hospitals cannot charge interest. They can, and should be, negotiated with as a matter of course. The bill itself should be gone over with a fine tooth comb to make sure items are not doubled or made in error (this is very common).

Leave a Reply

